七巧的图形

七巧游戏由一套七巧板和一些仅有轮廓的图形组成。七巧板是由一个正方形切割成的七块几何平板:包括两个大三角、一个中三角、两个小三角、一个正方形和一片平行四边形。七巧板的材料各异,有木 制、象牙、金属及其它材质。

七巧板拼图k

七巧游戏的图形有器物、山水、动物,还有不同姿态的人物。玩七巧游戏就是要用 所有这七个板块按图形要求,平面地拼出各种几何图形。

七巧的历史

很多中国学者认为七巧板的起源可以追溯到宋代(960–1127)。宋代的黄伯思(1079–1118)发明了一套开始是六件后来增加为七件的长方形小桌,还创作了一些将这些小桌拼组的图形。因为可以根据来客人数和需要的不同,在筵席上拼摆这些桌几,他将这套小桌称作“燕几”。

燕几的三个尺寸
燕几的三个尺寸
此组拼用了所有七张燕几
此组拼用了所有七张燕几
其它两个燕几组拼图样
其它两个燕几组拼图样

到了明代(1368–1644),黄伯思的燕几衍化成一套更加多变的桌几。 戈汕在他1617出版的《蝶几谱》里描述了这一套十三件的小桌。它们有六个尺寸形状,呈三角形和梯形。这些小桌被称作蝶几是因为它们的形状就如同蝴蝶的翅膀。

蝶几的图形及比例
蝶几的图形及比例
蝶几由十三张六种尺寸
蝶几由十三张六种尺寸的小桌组成
蝶几形似蝴蝶的翅膀
蝶几形似蝴蝶的翅膀

经简化了的蝶几图形在十九世纪初出现,这就是现在的七巧。目前我们能找到的最早有关七巧的书籍却是1813年出版的《七巧图合壁》,本书的著者是碧梧居士,书内的七巧图形是桑下客绘制的。

现存最早的七巧书
1813年碧梧居士所著的《七巧图合璧》,书内的七巧图形是桑下客绘制的

 

最早有记载的七巧

现存最早的七巧板
广州购得的象牙雕刻的七巧板及其锦盒,1802年
费城 Ryerss 博物馆及图书馆供图

现存最早的七巧板之一是一套象牙雕刻的七巧板。这套七巧板很有可能是由罗伯特·沃恩(1765–1836)从广州购得并带到美国的。罗伯特·沃恩是颇有名气的费城商人,在1796至1815年间来往于广州的商贸船中,与他有生意关系的至少有十二艘。这套七巧板的锦盒底部写有:“F·沃恩一八零二年四月四日”(F. Waln April 4th 1802)。这套七巧板也许是罗伯特·沃恩给他的第四个孩子弗朗西丝·沃恩(1799–1822)的礼物。

西方的商人们将在广州购得的七巧板和桑下客的七巧书带回国,很快七巧游戏就风靡欧洲及美国。在1817和1818年,英国、法国、瑞士、义大利、荷兰、丹麦、德国和美国也都陆续出版了有关七巧的书籍。

在中国,碧梧居士和桑下客的七巧图掀起了七巧热,各种不同的七巧书籍也随之出版发行。在晚清时期,七巧游戏受到各个阶层的人们的喜爱,七巧不仅仅流传于民间,是商贾、百姓、文人和富有的人们的游戏,而且还流传于宫廷,成为皇族们的消遣游戏。广东的外贸店也为西方的商客们提供了种类繁多的精美刻制的七巧板。

吴友如风俗画中的妇女在玩七巧板
吴友如风俗画中的妇女
在玩七巧板(局部)1892年

七巧桌

清中晚期,出现了一些红木和其它贵重木材制的七巧桌,有些镶有荫木或大理石桌面。虽然七巧游戏衍生自黄伯思的燕几和戈汕的蝶几,但七巧游戏是否由七巧桌演变而来,或者七巧桌是否来自于七巧游戏,还有待进一步考证。

在中国,现在只有两个地方可以看到公开展出的清代的七巧桌—一个是苏州,另一个是北京。江苏的苏州历来以姑苏文化、文房艺术和古园林建筑等著称于世,苏州留园的揖峰轩就藏有一套七巧桌。初看这套桌子,人们会以为是两张方桌,一张上面盖着一个围棋盘,另一张上面盖着一个象棋盘。但是仔细观察一下就会发现这两张方桌实际上是由一组七件的七巧桌组成:两张大三角桌组成一个方桌,另外五张组成另一个方桌。这套七巧桌的材质是红木,桌面嵌有大理石,桌下管脚枨间攒接冰裂纹。

苏州留园的七巧桌
苏州留园的七巧桌
北京颐和园牌云殿的七巧桌
北京颐和园牌云殿的七巧桌

北京的七巧桌有好几套。这些桌子都“藏”在颐和园的排云殿西厅里。人们仅能从一些窗口看到这些七巧家具。牌云殿始建于1750年,在1890年重建。慈禧太后每年都在那里举行生日庆典。

排云殿有四套红木七巧桌,其中两套较矮,应该是七巧几,共有28张。七巧桌分放在三处:十张桌子拼成一个大六边形,另外四张成对分两处置放。 有时,在那里还能看到那两套七巧小几在厅中。

七巧攒盘

七巧攒盘

十九世纪末至二十世纪初,由于人们对七巧的喜爱,七巧的造型也用在了生活用品中,例如攒盘。七巧攒盘通常放置在一个正方形的木盒中。人们过年过节时用攒盘来盛放干果和甜品招待家里来访的客人。

陈浏是清末的文官,也是陶瓷品收藏家。他在1910年所著的《陶雅》中对七巧攒盘有这样的描述:

粔籹粻餭。(俗谓之糕点)谓之寒具。而星罗棋布于瓷品之中。状如七巧之版。则谓之盘格。(即俗所谓果盒者也)以干窑为最多。有洋瓷彩绘花鸟者。比意绝工。有通体瓷质豆青地。金绘叟龙者。篆书金款。典重矞皇。

 大七巧攒盘
大七巧攒盘
江西景德镇;清 同治(1862–1874年)
37.0 x 37.0 x 10.0厘米
小七巧攒盘
小七巧攒盘
江西景德镇;清 道光(1821–1850年)
19.7 x 19.7 x 2.1厘米

中国的瓷都景德镇曾烧制过各种七巧攒盘、七巧颜料盘和七巧碗。它们有大有小、有深有浅、形状多变。但是,最引人注目的是它们上面的绘画,从戏剧故事到花鸟蝴蝶,从山水人物到书法和神兽,题材万千。

七巧攒盘上的装饰题材万千
七巧攒盘上的装饰题材万千

除瓷器外,七巧攒盘和颜料盘也还有其它材质的,如紫砂、漆器、木制、铜胎珐琅及景泰蓝。大部分的七巧攒盘可以随意摆置,也有一些器具仅仅是用七巧的造型将其分隔起来。

参考资料

陈浏。《陶雅》。1906。

戈汕。《蝶几谱》。1617。

黃伯思。《燕几圖》。1194。

碧梧居士,桑下客。《七巧图合壁》。1813。

Jean Gordon Lee. Philadelphians and the China Trade, 1784–1844. Philadelphia, 1984.

Jerry Slocum. The Tangram Book. New York, 2003.

Tangram Arrangements

The tangram puzzle consists of seven flat pieces and a collection of simple outline diagrams or silhouettes. The pieces—which can be arranged to form a square—consist of two large triangles, one medium triangle, two small triangles, one square, and one parallelogram. They can be made of wood, ivory, metal or some other material.

seven tangram pieces arranged to form a duck

The diagrams can be pictures of objects, landscapes, animals, or even human figures in various positions. The objective of the puzzle is to place all seven pieces on a flat surface (without any pieces overlapping) to form the same shape as one of the diagrams.

The Origin of Tangram

Many Chinese scholars believe the roots of the tangram puzzle date back to the Northern Song dynasty (960–1127), when Huang Bosi (1079–1118) invented a set of rectangular tables and a collection of diagrams showing how the tables could be arranged in a variety of configurations to seat guests at banquets. There were seven tables in the set, and they were made in three different lengths. Huang Bosi called them “banquet tables” and described them in his book Banquet Table Diagrams:

three sizes of banquet tables
The three sizes of
banquet tables
all seven banquet tables
An arrangement using
all seven tables
banquet tables arrangements
Two more
banquet arrangements

Huang Bosi’s banquet tables led to the creation of another more versatile set of tables during the Ming dynasty (1368–1644). These were called “butterfly tables” and were described by Ge Shan in his 1617 book Butterfly Table Diagrams. There were a total of thirteen tables in the set, and they came in six shapes and sizes of triangles and trapezoids. Ge Shan called them butterfly tables because their angular shapes resemble the wings of butterflies.

butterfly tables in a square
Butterfly tables
forming a square
six different butterfly tables
There are thirteen tables
in six different shape
butterfly table arrangements
They resemble wings
of butterflies

A simplified version of the butterfly tables appeared appeared around the turn of the 18th century. This was the seven-piece tangram puzzle we know today. The earliest known tangram diagrams were published in a 1813 book Complete Tangram Diagrams by Bi Wu Jushi (“scholar of the green parasol tree”) with diagrams by Sang Xia Ke (“guest under the mulberry tree”).

tangram book from 1813
Cover and pages from Bi Wu Jushi and Sang Xia Ke’s Compilation of Tangram Diagrams, published in 1813

Early Tangram Puzzles

ivory tangram set from 1802
Carved ivory tangram puzzle and box purchased in Canton, ca. 1802
Courtesy of Ryerss Museum, Philadelphia

A set of carved ivory tangram pieces was brought to America around 1802. It was probably purchased in Canton by an employee of Robert Waln (1765–1836), a prominent Philadelphia importer who had an interest in at least twelve ships trading with Canton between 1796 and 1815. The bottom of the puzzle’s small silk-brocade-covered pasteboard box is inscribed, F. Waln April 4th 1802, and the puzzle may have been a gift to Francis Waln (1799–1822), the fourth child of Robert and Phebe Waln.

Other western merchants doing business in Canton also took home Chinese tangram puzzles and books, and soon a tangram craze swept across Europe and America. During 1817 and 1818, tangram books were published in England, France, Switzerland, Italy, the Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, and the United States.

Wu Youru print of ladies playing tangram
Detail from a print by Wu Youru, 1892

In China, the popularity of the work by Bi Wu Jushi and Sang Xia Ke stirred many new tangram enthusiasts and entrepreneurs to follow in their footsteps. They created additional tangram figures and published their own collections of diagrams. During the last half of the Qing dynasty, tangram enjoyed great popularity among common people, scholars, and the wealthy—including the imperial family. Fancy tangram sets were also produced in the workshops of Canton for sale to foreign merchants eager for curios to take home to their families, friends, and sponsors.

Tangram Tables

During the mid to late Qing dynasty, sets of tangram-shaped tables were created out of high-quality wood and sometimes embellished with carving or with burlwood or marble tops. While it’s quite certain that the tangram puzzle descended from Huang Bosi’s banquet tables and Ge Shan’s butterfly tables, there’s no evidence that shows whether tangram tables preceded the puzzle or vice versa.

There are two places in China where antique tangram table sets are still on display to the public. Suzhou in Jiangsu Province is well known as an ancient center of art, scholarship, and culture. It is also the home of many famous gardens, including the Garden for Lingering (Liuyuan). Inside one of the Garden for Lingering’s pavilions is what at first appears to be a pair of square game tables with removable wooden covers. One cover is inscribed with a Chinese chess (xiangqi) board and the other with a Go (weiqi) board. But upon removing the two covers one discovers a complete set of tangram tables. Two large triangular tables lie under one cover, and tables in the shapes of the five smaller tangram pieces lie under the other. The tables are made of blackwood (hongmu) in the typical Suzhou style, with inset marble tops and a “cracked ice” pattern filling in the space between the bottom stretchers.

tangram tables in Suzhou
Tangram tables at the Garden for Lingering, Suzhou
Tangram tables at the Summer Palace, Beijing
Tangram tables at the Summer Palace, Beijing

Beijing also hosts a collection of tangram tables. These tables are also hidden, for they are located in a locked building, and one can only see the entire set by peeking in through several different windows. Fortunately, the building, the Hall of Dispersing Clouds (Paiyundian), is located in the Summer Palace (Yiheyuan) and is accessible to the public. The Hall of Dispersing Clouds was built in 1750, rebuilt in 1890, and was the location of Empress Dowager Cixi’s birthday celebration each year.

Four complete sets of blackwood (hongmu) tables—twenty-eight in all—are on display. There are two full-size sets with ten tables arranged to form a large hexagon and the other four tables arranged in two pairs. And there are also two sets of shorter tangram tables, arranged in a group of ten and another group of four.

Tangram Condiment Dishes

tangram dishes with fruit

During the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries tangram was so popular that sets of condiment or “sweetmeat” dishes were made in the shapes of the seven tangram pieces. The seven dishes were usually set into a specially made square box with a lid and were brought out to serve guests during Chinese New Year and on other special occasions.

Civil servant and porcelain collector Chen Liu, described tangram condiment dishes in his 1910 classic reference on porcelain, Notes on Porcelain (Tao ya), as follows:

Rice cakes and condiments, commonly called ‘pastry’ and also known as ‘cold food’, are distributed among porcelain dishes shaped like tangram, and are, therefore, called divided dishes, popularly known as condiment dishes…. Some are export porcelain pieces colored with flowers and birds, the craftsmanship unsurpassed.

The kilns of Jingdezhen, China’s porcelain capital, produced sets of tangram condiment dishes, paint dishes, and cups in a remarkable number of sizes and styles. The dishes could be large or small, deep or shallow, and their sides could be vertical or formed to slope outward.

large tangram condiment dishes
Large tangram condiment dishes
Jingdezhen, Jiangxi; Qing dynasty, Tongzhi reign (1862–1874)
37.0 x 37.0 x 10.0 cm
small tangram condiment dishes
Small tangram condiment dishes
Jingdezhen, Jiangxi; Qing dynasty, Daoguang reign (1821–1850)
19.7 x 19.7 x 2.1 cm

The most striking indication of the popularity of tangram dishes is the great variety of themes and patterns with which they were decorated. Examples include scenes from stories and operas, butterflies, birds and flowers, landscapes, mythical creatures, and calligraphy.

tangram dishes
Tangram condiment dishes were produced in a great variety of decorative styles.

Tangram condiment sets, paint dishes, and trays were also made of Yixing clay, lacquer, wood, and Canton enamel. While most tangram dish sets consist of seven individual dishes that can be moved around, there are also examples in which the tangram pattern is used to divide a single dish or tray into seven immovable compartments.

References

Chen Liu. Tao ya (Notes on Porcelain). 1906.

Ge Shan. Dieji pu (Butterfly Table Diagrams). 1617.

Huang Bosi. Yanji tu (Banquet Table Diagrams). 1194.

Jean Gordon Lee. Philadelphians and the China Trade, 1784–1844. Philadelphia, 1984.

Bi Wu Jushi and Sang Xia Ke. Qiqiao tu hebi (Complete Tangram Diagrams). 1813.

Jerry Slocum. The Tangram Book. New York, 2003.