广州的中西贸易

1757年,乾隆皇帝(在位期间1736–1795)将除广州外的所有口岸对西方关闭,一直到第一次鸦片战争结束的1842年。在广州,西方来中国进行贸易的商人局限在城墙外珠江口的沙面。 广州的“行商”们在那里设店铺,西方商人在那里生活及交易。航海气候及订货情况使得西方的商人们在沙面要住几个月才能回国或返回他们在澳门的住所。

珠江口及广州
珠江口及广州“十三行”(1800年),皮博地埃塞克斯博物馆供图

在这段时间里,商人们得以流览各类货物,并选购礼物给他们的家人、朋友及商务伙伴。一些店铺里销售精美的象牙雕刻制品,例如,象牙花船,玩具和益智游戏。有些益智游戏还是用檀香木、玳瑁及螺钿制作的。

象牙制益智游戏和玩具
象牙制益智游戏和玩具,广州,19世纪中叶
店铺的商标,广州
店铺的商标,广州,19世纪中叶

1792年,英国皇室派出正式使节马戛尔尼去中国见乾隆皇帝,并提出增加贸易口岸及其它要求,英国的要求被拒。随马戛尔尼去中国的他的私人秘书在日记上这样写道:

在所有机械艺术中,[广州人]最拿手的是象牙制品……,各种各样孩子们的玩具以及其它小东西都比世界任何一个地方做得都物美价廉。

 

外销的益智游戏

在那个时期,华清行(Hoaching)制作了成套的象牙雕刻益智游戏。华清行也是广州高级银器产家。另一个商行是林清(Linching),制作玳瑁和螺钿工艺品。在香港的厉清(Lee Ching)也销售了成套的象牙益智游戏。这些商行的名字随着他们的产品而留存,但是每天从早到晚制作那些产品的人们却默默无闻。在当时,一个象牙雕刻的学徒在头四年中得到的仅仅是最基本的食宿。学成后,他们的报酬也只是每日两餐及零用钱。为了得到较好的报酬,手艺高强的雕刻师们会另立门户,在自己的住所加工艺术品。

工匠们在打钻、锯及雕刻象牙
工匠们在打钻、锯及雕刻象牙

现存最早的七巧板之一是一套象牙雕刻的七巧板。这套七巧板最有可能是由罗伯特·沃恩(1765–1836)从广州购得并带到美国的。罗伯特·沃恩是费城的商人,在1796至1815年间来往于广州的商贸船中,与他有生意关系的至少有十二艘。这套七巧板的锦盒底部写有:“F·沃恩 一八零二年四月四日”(F. Waln April 4th 1802)。

1820年,麻省沙崙的本洁明·史莱沃(Benjamin Shreve,生于1780年)船长驾着崭新的恩地科特州长号(Governor Endicott)商船来到了广州。他买的一个益智游戏只花了50美分。几十年后,另一个船长威廉·卡特怀(William Cartwright)(1819–1864)驾着他的浩官号(Houqua)商船从广州回到了他在麻省楠塔基特的家。他带回了一套锦盒装置的十件象牙益智游戏给他的孩子们。

广州的象牙工艺品店
广州的象牙工艺品店可能跟这个香港的工艺品店很相似 约翰·汤普森摄于1870年

您能从这张照片的华隆和培记(Wah Loong and Cumwo)的店铺中找到益智游戏和玩具吗?华隆是广州的一个商铺,除象牙艺术品外,还经营丝绸和漆器。在这张摆设的照片中,店员和一个小学徒坐在柜台内,店主倚站在柜台外,窗口站著过路人。店内的货架上放满了象牙艺术品。在那里,我们可以看到三个象牙九连环、两个六根的鲁班锁、一个中国梯游戏、五个接球玩具、两个翻杠马戏人玩具、一个陀螺和许多“鬼工球”。架子上还有象棋立体棋子、花船、开信刀、手套撑夹、口哨、梳子、名片盒、镜子和发刷、笔筒、餐巾环、花瓶及盒子。约翰·汤普森(John Thomson)(1837–1921)是这样描述这个工艺品店的:

中国的店铺主们各自不同。他们争相摆设他们店里的昂贵的物品:比如广州的丝绸、象牙雕刻制品、首饰、瓷器和绘画。进到一家广州人开的店里,店主会亲自欢迎你。这是一个会讲英语的广东人,上身穿山东绸,下身穿深色的绉纱裤,系白色绑腿,脚穿刺绣天鹅绒鞋……。他的店员穿着同样讲究,站在深色的柜台后。店柜的玻璃一尘不染,里面装满了工艺品。店的另一面满是带有标签和价格的丝绸料和草蓆样品。楼上是摆放整齐的青铜器、瓷器、乌木家具和漆器。这些人一般卖价公道,他们会非常客气地卖给你一件最便宜的玩具,就好像你刚向他买了一船的刺绣丝绸。

 

珍贵的纪念品

巴黎女孩玩象牙九连环
“中国游戏”(Jeux chinois),油画
法国 Louis-Émile Pinel de Grandchamp

在十九世纪,也许一般欧美商人们会从广州带回国一些精致的象牙益智游戏的纪念品。但是,船长们及商务负责人则需要买一些更精美的、更合乎他们身份的礼物。广州的商人为他们准备了成套的益智游戏和玩具。成套的益智游戏放在一个锦盒或漆盒中,每一件玩具又嵌放在专门定做的内盒的每一个凹形的空间里。每一套大约可放置十到三十件益智游戏和玩具。

在这幅名为“中国游戏”的油画中,Louis-Émile Pinel de Grandchamp(1820-1894)画了两个巴黎少女在一个华丽的有游廊里,一个在玩象牙九连环,另一个在观看。在图中的左下角,有一个打开的漆盒,盒内有许多象牙制益智游戏。

装象牙益智游戏的漆盒也各有不同,一些只有简单的装饰纹,而另一些上面是华丽的金色绘画。同样,象牙益智游戏和玩具也在雕刻和质量上差距很大,从简单刻花到登峰造极的雕刻。显然,不同质量的益智游戏为的是不同价位、不同层次的人们的需求。上百个成套的益智游戏被带到了西方,成为伦敦、利物普、波士顿、纽约、费城及其它西方的商贸城市中富贵人家的家庭游戏。有一些现在还可以寻觅到。
 

参考资料

John Barrow. Imperial Palace of Yuen-Min-Yuen, and on a subsequent journey through the country, from Pekin to Canton. London, 1804.

Carl L. Crossman. The Decorative Arts of The China Trade. Woodbridge, Suffolk, 1991.

Jean Gordon Lee. Philadelphians and the China Trade 1784–1844. Philadelphia, 1984.

Arthur de Carle Sowerby. China and Ivory. Shanghai, 1936.

John Thomson. Through China with a Camera. Westminster, 1898.

The Export Trade in Canton

In 1757 the Qianlong Emperor (reigned 1736–1795) closed all ports to westerners except for Canton, and they remained closed until 1842, after the First Opium War. In Canton, foreigners were restricted to a small strip of waterfront between the Pearl River and the city wall. The western traders lived in and conducted all their activities in a row of buildings known as “factories” or “hongs” that they rented from a small group of wealthy Chinese merchants. Weather conditions and the time needed to negotiate their sales and purchases determined that ship officers and traders had to spend several months in Canton before sailing home or back to their residences in Macao.

view of Canton harbor in 1800
View of the hongs along Canton’s Pearl River with the city in the background, ca. 1800 (detail)
Courtesy of the Peabody Essex Museum, Salem, Massachusetts

During this period the western merchants had ample time to shop for specialty items for their families, friends, and investors back home, and dozens of small Chinese shops catered to their needs. Among these shops were several that offered elaborately carved ivory fans, combs, boxes, nested concentric puzzle balls, miniature “flower boats,” toys, games—and puzzles. The same shops produced puzzles made of sandalwood, tortoiseshell, and mother-of-pearl.

Chinese ivory puzzles
Ivory puzzles, Canton, mid-19th c.
ivory puzzles shop label, Canton
Shop label, Canton, mid-19th c.

In 1792 the British Crown sent Lord Macartney on a mission to the court of Emperor Qianlong in an unsuccessful effort to open additional trading ports. John Barrow, who accompanied Macartney as his private secretary, wrote in his journal:

Of all the mechanical arts, that in which [the Canton Chinese] seem to have attained the highest degree of perfection is the cutting of ivory…. All kinds of toys for children, and other trinkets and trifles, are executed in a neater manner and for less money in China than in any other part of the world.

 

Producing Puzzles for Export

One dealer who produced sets of carved ivory puzzles was Hoaching, well known as Canton’s premier silversmith. Another was Linching, who also sold items of tortoiseshell and mother-of-pearl. Hong Kong dealer Lee Ching sold sets of ivory puzzles. The names of these proprietors live on, but the actual carvers whose workdays lasted from early morning to late at night remain anonymous. During a boy’s four-year apprenticeship, his master provided him with only the most basic necessities. After that, the carver received a small wage each month in addition to two daily meals. No wonder that most expert carvers preferred to work for themselves in their own homes, where they could make a better living!

Canton ivory craftsmen
Canton ivory craftsman at work drilling, sawing, and carving

One of the first carved ivory tangram puzzles brought to America was probably purchased in Canton by an employee of Robert Waln (1765–1836), a prominent Philadelphia importer who had an interest in at least twelve ships trading with Canton between 1796 and 1815. The bottom of this puzzle’s small silk-covered pasteboard box is inscribed, F. Waln April 4th 1802.

On his 1820 voyage to Canton as captain of the newly-built ship Governor Endicott, Benjamin Shreve (b. 1780) of Salem, Massachusetts, purchased a Chinese puzzle for fifty cents. And several decades later Captain William Cartwright (1819–1864) of the clipper ship Houqua returned to his Nantucket home from Canton with a brocade-covered pasteboard box containing ten carved ivory puzzles and toys for his children.

Hong Kong curio shop by John Thomson, 1870
Canton’s ivory shops probably looked very much like this Hong Kong shop photographed by John Thomson in 1870

Can you see the ivory puzzles on display in this 1870 photograph of Wah Loong and Cumwo’s ivory shop? Wah Loong was from Canton and specialized in silks and lacquerware in addition to ivory. In this photograph, the shopkeeper stands in front of the counter while his two assistants pose behind it. At the rear are shelves stocked with items of carved ivory. Among these one can clearly discern three nine linked rings puzzles, two six-piece burr puzzles, one Chinese ladder puzzle, five ball and cup toys, two swinging acrobats, one spinning top, and many puzzle balls, chess pieces, flower boats, letter openers, glove stretchers, whistles, combs, card cases, mirrors, brush holders, napkin rings, vases, and boxes. Here is Thomson’s own description of Canton’s shops that accompanied the above photograph:

Chinese shopkeepers are a class apart, and vie with each other in their display of costly wares, Canton silks, carved ivory, jewellery, porcelain, and paintings. Entering a Cantonese shop, one is welcomed by the proprietor himself, a Kwang-tung [Guangdong] gentleman speaking English; his attire is a jacket of Shan-tung [Shandong] silk, dark crape breeches, white leggings, and velvet embroidered shoes…. His assistants are dressed with equal care and stand behind ebony counters and glass cases, the latter of spotless polish and filled with curiosities. One side of the shop is occupied by rolls of silk and samples of grass matting, all labelled and priced; the floor above is taken up with a cleverly arranged assortment of bronzes, porcelain, ebony furniture, and lacquered ware. These men, as a rule, are … generally fair in their dealings, and will supply the cheapest toy with as great politeness as if receiving an order for a ship-load of embroidered silks.

 

The Ultimate Souvenir

French girl playing with a Chinese puzzle
“Jeux Chinois” by Louis-Émile Pinel de Grandchamp

Intricately carved ivory puzzles produced for sale to European and American traders during the nineteenth century were perhaps the ultimate souvenirs to bring home from Canton. But the ship’s captain and supercargo, who was in charge of buying and selling the cargo, needed gifts more appropriate for their status. For them the Canton dealers produced entire sets of ivory puzzles, games, and toys, which they packaged in brocade-covered pasteboard boxes or silk-lined lacquer chests. Each “games box” contained a customized pasteboard insert with compartments to hold an assortment of ten to thirty puzzles the customer had purchased.

This painting by Louis-Émile Pinel de Grandchamp (1820–1894) shows two Parisian girls in a luxurious veranda setting. One is playing with an ivory nine linked rings puzzle while the other watches. At the lower left of the painting is an open lacquer chest with several other puzzles visible.

Some of the lacquer chests were very plain, while others were beautifully decorated with gilded painting. Similarly, some ivory puzzles had very little carving, while others were monogrammed and exhibited the highest quality of work—so there seem to have been puzzle collections to match every pocketbook. Hundreds of these beautiful games boxes made their way back to the parlors of the wealthy in London, Liverpool, Boston, New York, Philadelphia, and other ports of the West—where some of them can still be found today!
 

References

John Barrow. Imperial Palace of Yuen-Min-Yuen, and on a subsequent journey through the country, from Pekin to Canton. London, 1804.

Carl L. Crossman. The Decorative Arts of The China Trade. Woodbridge, Suffolk, 1991.

Jean Gordon Lee. Philadelphians and the China Trade 1784–1844. Philadelphia, 1984.

Arthur de Carle Sowerby. China and Ivory. Shanghai, 1936.

John Thomson. Through China with a Camera. Westminster, 1898.