华容道的故事

曹操被围困在华容道
曹操被围困在华容道

相传在公元208年,因为策略失误,曹操的二十万魏国大军在赤壁之战中被五万蜀军击败,曹操带著仅剩的几十个残兵逃亡。

罗贯中(约1330–1400)的《三国演义》中的曹操逃亡华容道的故事,在中国是家喻户晓。据《三国演义》的故事,曹操逃亡的唯一途径是华容道。但是,蜀军师诸葛亮早已算计到了这一点,并安置关羽在华容道捉曹。曹操被擒,但是曹操以他旧时对关羽的友情,说服关羽放他出逃。

华容道的“战场”是一个长方形的平底盘,大方形滑块代表曹操。代表曹操的滑块下方的横块代表关羽,其它的八个滑块代表要擒拿曹操的蜀国官兵们,在盒底处的开口代表华容道出口。战局开始时,代表曹操的滑块被其它九个滑块围困在游戏盘的顶端。游戏者的任务是帮助“曹操”从华容道滑脱出去。
 

华容道游戏的简史

姜长英教授研究华容道
姜长英教授
(1904–2006)

西安西北工业大学已故教授姜长英(1904–2006)对华容道颇有研究,整理了华容道在中国的流行情况的资料。他也是中国第一个发表对华容道游戏研究结果的人。在他1949年的《科学 消遣》一书中,姜长英将这个游戏称作“华容道”。姜长英还认为这个游戏大概发明于十九世纪三十年代。在三十年代末或四十年代初流行于中国。姜长英第一次见到华容道游戏是在1943年的秋夏。

1938年,抗日战争刚开始,西北工业大学教授林德宽当时在陕西汉中家乡,为了躲避日军的轰炸,他躲到了城固乡下。在那里他看到孩子们在玩用纸片制作的华容道。

1943年,作为当时新四军文化教员的梁青,从苏北的群众那里学会了华容道,并将其在新四军的战士们中推广。梁青还收集整理了华容道不同的布局,并给每一个布局都起了一个相应的名字。最常见的这个华容道布局叫“横刀立马”;其它的还有“插翅难飞”和“层层设防”等。

横刀立马
横刀立马
插翅难飞
插翅难飞
层层设防
层层设防

各种华容道的布局。

屯兵东路
屯兵东路
守口如瓶
守口如瓶
水泄不通
水泄不通

根据姜长英的研究,华容道应该是在1940年代从苏北流传到上海的。在五十年代初的上海,有小贩在街上兜售纸板印刷的华容道。后来,他还在上海的文具店里看到有木制的华容道销售。在1956年,这个游戏以“关羽放曹”发表在一个数学杂志上。后来辽宁画报在1959年刊出了这个游戏,题为“赶走纸老虎”。到了60年代,上海的一个玩具厂制作了“船坞排挡”的塑料滑块游戏。华容道的爱好者们在1980年代成立了华容道研究会,并在北京、上海和华北举行了比赛。

在1932年,英国人弗来明(J. H. Fleming)获得一个和华容道类似的游戏的专利。滑块和底盘和现在的华容道是一样的,出口也在底部。其它类型的滑块游戏在法国、日本及其他国家也出现过,并都带有本国的色彩。将曹操放出华容道的最少步骤是81步,这个解法是美国新奥尔良的莱曼(Thomas B. Lemann)找到的。这个解法发表在1964年3月刊的《科学美国人》杂志上。

不论华容道的来源如何,将三国捉放曹的故事附在这个滑块游戏上,使之本土化,华容道成了一个特有的中国益智游戏。
 

解华容道

现在请您试解一下华容道。您可以用纸板或者木板先制作一个华容道,或者也可以在游戏店里买一个。您甚至可以在网上玩这个游戏的电子版。一开始时,先不要太关注步数,您的目的是要将曹操移出华容道底部的出口。在玩的过程中掌握游戏策略。需要时还可以重新布局再解。
 


 

如果您要用81步将曹操放出华容道,下面一些是解华容道的步骤。请注意,在头24步之前,曹操和围在他两边的蜀将根本就没有动!因此,游戏开始的24步仅仅是滑盘的下方的滑块滑动。参照下方的步骤,您就能用81步将曹操放出华容道

开始
第24步
第30步
第34步
第41步
第48步
第59步
第72步
第81步

当您将曹操放出华容道后,试试看能否不看图解再解一次?如果您有兴趣,试试能否在其它布局中也将曹操放出。祝您成功!
 

参考资料

Martin Gardner. “Mathematical Games” in Scientific American 210:3 (March 1964).

Edward Hordern. Sliding Block Puzzles. Oxford, 1986.

姜长英。《 科学消遣》。上海, 1949。

姜长英。《 科学思维锻炼与消遣》。西安,1997。

罗贯中(约1330–1400)。《三国演义》。

The Story of Huarong Pass

In the year 208 Cao Cao led 220,000 troops of the Wei army to fight against an army of 50,000 Shu troops in a mountainous area near Chibi in today’s Hubei province. Because of some strategic errors, Cao Cao’s troops were badly defeated in the Battle of Chibi, and he fled with only a handful of his soldiers.

Huarong Pass initial configuration
Cao Cao 曹操 is blocked by the
opposing commanders

A fictionalized version of Cao Cao’s escape is recounted in Three Kingdoms, the classic historical novel by Luo Guanzhong (ca. 1330–1400), and is known to every schoolchild in China. According to this story, the only way for Cao Cao to escape was through the narrow Huarong Pass. However, the Shu strategist Zhuge Liang had already placed his commander Guan Yu there, and Cao Cao was captured. But taking advantage of their old friendship, Cao Cao persuaded Guan Yu to let him go.

The rectangular board shown here is a battlefield; the large square block at the top is Cao Cao; the horizontal rectangular block directly below Cao Cao is Guan Yu; the other eight blocks are other Shu commanders and soldiers; and the opening at the bottom of the board is Huarong Pass. Initially the blocks are arranged as shown here, with Cao Cao’s block trapped by the other nine. The player’s job is to slide blocks horizontally and vertically so that Cao Cao can eventually escape through the pass.
 

History of the Huarong Pass Sliding Block Puzzle

Jiang Changying named the puzzle Huarong Dao
Professor Jiang Changying
(1904–2006)

Professor Jiang Changying (1904–2006) of Northwest Industrial University in Xi’an was the first person in China to write about the sliding block puzzle based on this story. He described it in his 1949 book Science Entertainment, and he named the puzzle Huarong Dao (Huarong Pass). Professor Jiang believed the puzzle was invented in the 1930s and became popular in China during the late 1930s and early 1940s. He had first encountered the puzzle during the summer and fall of 1943.

In 1938, when the Anti-Japanese War began, Professor Lin Dekuan of Northwestern Industrial University left his home in Hanzhong, Shaanxi province, and moved to the countryside in Chenggu county to avoid the Japanese air raids. There he saw children playing with sliding block puzzles made of paper.

In 1943 Liang Qing of Xi’an was a teacher in the New Fourth Route Army, and he publicized the sliding block puzzle among the soldiers to enhance their cultural life. He learned Huarong Pass from people in northern Jiangsu province and publicized it among the soldiers. Liang collected many different initial configurations of Huarong Pass and gave each a name for easy reference. The most common configuration was called “Blocked by Broad Sword and Standing Horses.” Other configurations were “Can’t Fly Out, Even with Wings,” and “Layered Blockage.”

Huarong Pass
Blocked by Broad Sword
and Standing Horses
Huarong Pass Can't Fly Out
Can’t Fly Out,
Even with Wings
Huarong Dao
Layered
Blockage

Many other initial configurations, with various degrees of difficulty, have also been created.

Huarong Dao
Blocked on the East
Exit Blocked sliding block puzzle
Exit Blocked
sliding block puzzle
Totally Blocked

According to Jiang Changying, the puzzle probably came to Shanghai in the early 1940s from northern Jiangsu province. By the early 1950s street vendors were selling versions of the puzzle printed on thin paper. Later, Professor Jiang saw a wood version sold in a Shanghai stationary store. In 1956 the puzzle was written up in a math magazine, where it was called “Guan Yu Releases Cao Cao.” In 1959 it appeared in Liaoning Pictorial with a revolutionary name fitting the era, “Chase Away the Paper Tiger.” In the 1960s Shanghai No. 14 Toy Factory and Shanghai Changchun Plastic Factory made plastic versions named “Parking the Boats.” And in the 1980s Huarong Pass enthusiasts formed an association and organized competitions in Beijing, Shanghai, and Northeast China.

In 1932 J. H. Fleming of Lancashire, England, patented a sliding block puzzle very similar to Huarong Pass, with the same blocks, board, and escape route at the bottom. Versions of the puzzle appeared in France, Japan, and other countries—each with its own theme and characters. The minimum-move solution—requiring eighty-one moves—was worked out by Thomas B. Lemann of New Orleans and was published in the March 1964 issue of Scientific American.

Regardless of its origin, the mapping of the classic story of Cao Cao’s capture and escape onto this sliding block puzzle has made Huarong Pass uniquely Chinese.
 

Solving Huarong Pass

Now it’s time for you to try your hand at Huarong Pass. You can make your own set out of wood or cardboard, or you can purchase it from a puzzle shop. You can even play an online version. Initially you shouldn’t worry about how many moves you take to free Cao Cao. Just try your own strategies until you find one that works. If you get frustrated you can always remove the blocks and start again.
 


 
If you would like to help Cao Cao to escape through Huarong Pass in eighty-one moves, here are a few intermediate steps to guide you along the way. Notice that Cao Cao and the opposing commanders on his left and right do not budge for the first twenty-four moves, so all the initial action takes place on the lower part of the battleground. Continue to follow the indicated steps, and lead Cao Cao through the opening at the base on the eighty-first move.

Start
24th move
30th move
34th move
41st move
48th move
59th move
72nd move
81st move

After you’ve led Cao Cao through Huarong Pass, try to do it again without looking at the hints. And don’t forget to try solving the other configurations too. Good luck!
 

References

Martin Gardner. “Mathematical Games” in Scientific American 210:3 (March 1964).

Edward Hordern. Sliding Block Puzzles. Oxford, 1986.

Jiang Changying. Kexue xiaoqian (Science Entertainment). Shanghai, 1949.

Jiang Changying. Kexue siwei yu xiaoqian (Science Thought Exercise and Entertainment). Xi’an, 1997.

Luo Guanzhong (c. 1330–1400). San guo yan yi (Three Kingdoms).