傅起凤老师和她的先生徐庄摄于2011年
傅起凤老师和她的先生徐庄摄于2011年

第一次慕名拜访北京益智游戏专家傅起凤和她的先生徐庄是在2000年11月, 我们从此成了很好的朋友。傅老师不仅喜爱益智游戏,她还是著名的魔术师,出版了许多有关中国魔术的专著。傅老师出生在一个魔术世家,至今已有五代魔术传人。她认为魔术、益智游戏和杂技是自然的一体的,因为这些娱乐是在传统上是相互关联的。傅老师还告诉我们她对益智游戏的爱好和兴趣来自她的曾祖母。下面是傅老师自述的故事:

我的曾祖母李氏(1869-1952)出生于一个富有的家庭,家里曾是四川省最大的盐商。她很聪明,虽然没有受过正式教育,但是她从兄弟的的课堂上学也听会了所有的教授课程,同时也学会了七巧板游戏。她出嫁到傅家时的陪嫁是长寿县的200亩地。可是我的曾祖父十九岁时就去世了,因此,我的祖父从来没有见过他的父亲。

母亲曾庆蒲和父亲傅天正 摄于1945年
母亲曾庆蒲和父亲傅天正 摄于1945年

因为曾祖母受过教育,她很开明。在祖父傅志清(1887-1940)十七岁时,她将祖父送到日本的早稻田大学读书。在日本时,祖父读的是法律,但他对话剧和魔术产生了兴趣。由于祖父是家里的独子,我的曾祖母在很早就给他包办了婚事,在他去日本前我的父亲就出生了。我的祖母自己也十分爱学习,她去了成都学习蚕丝加工。因此,我的父亲是由我的曾祖母带大的。父亲出生时我的曾祖母还不到四十岁,她照管我的父亲,教他唱歌,还教他学习七巧板游戏。家里当时有一套七巧造型的盘子,曾祖母还用这套盘子来装食物。

我的父亲傅天正(1906-1972)在重庆长大。当他还是个高中生时,就已经很出名了。他不仅仅会书画和诗词,还参与学校的办报和舞台演出,并且还自己举办和演出魔术。后来他去北平大学读书,获得艺术史和商业法律的学位。由于他的父亲是当时颇有名气的律师,毕业后父亲也做了律师。但是由于对魔术艺术的喜爱,他后来放弃了律师的工作,成为一名魔术师,尽管那个时候魔术师的是个不被人们尊重的职业。他在上海魔术团的演出十分优秀,是主要演员。除此以外,他还用空余的时间整理和研究魔术、戏法和杂技的历史,并撰写和出版了这方面的书籍。

傅天正在一九五四年出版的《幼童七巧图》
傅天正在一九五四年出版的《幼童七巧图》
《幼童七巧图》中的“三只飞鸟”
《幼童七巧图》中的“三只飞鸟”

我的母亲曾庆蒲(1909-1976)也来自重庆一个颇有名气的家庭,她毕业于重庆最好的女子中学。她和父亲志道同合,也酷爱书画和七巧游戏。她那时会买一些由空白页装订的小册子,在上面描绘七巧图形。有时,她会将七巧的一片片图形剪下来,将拼好的图形贴在册子上。她还用多套的七巧拼成情景图,比如:打乒乓球、打扫卫生、和杂技表演。我们现在还存有一些她制作的图形。

母亲绘写了《益智图新编》,并在1953年用她的笔名耘心出版了此书。我的二叔傅天奇(1910–1977)也是一个魔术师和艺术家,他为母亲的这本书绘图。母亲钟爱书法,1960年她开始用十五巧益智板拼字,拼写当时的时新词汇。她请我的女儿和儿子将她拼好的字图描出外框,有“人民公社好”和“百花齐放”之类的。

1953年出版的《益智图新编》
1953年出版的《益智图新编》
百花齐放
“百花齐放”

从我记事起就看到我的父母亲在空余时间用七巧板做拼图游戏。每当有新创造时,他们就会很高兴。那个时候我们全家都在玩七巧板,家里有一个方桌,我们就各占一方用七巧板拼图。在我的孩子还很小的时侯,我的父母亲就会让他们为七巧图形描绘外形。

五十年代时,我的父母亲出版了四本七巧板的书籍,我的二叔傅天奇为他们的书做绘图。他们还在上海和北京的报纸发表了许多介绍和有关七巧板的文章,一直到文革(1966-1976)。

文革期间,我父母亲的许多手稿都遗失了。我这里仅留下了母亲为毛主席的诗词《长征》拼写的手稿,每个字都是用十五巧益智板拼的。我的弟弟腾龙为每一个拼好的字制作了橡皮印章,母亲就用这些橡皮印章印这首诗。

曾庆蒲1973年用十五巧益智板创作的“红军不怕远征难”。
曾庆蒲1973年用十五巧益智板创作的“红军不怕远征难”。
傅天正在教孙子用十五巧益智板拼图 摄于1966年
傅天正在教孙子用十五巧益智板拼图 摄于1966年

文革时期,我们的家被抄,许多东西和资料被抄走。红卫兵甚至将我家的地板都撬开,查看我们是否在下面藏东西。许多年以后,我们家被抄走的东西退回来了一部分,但是,我父亲钟爱的《信手拈来》却丢失了,他的《七巧集成》也被毁到不可修复。但是我的父母对七巧板的喜爱和执着没有因此中断,他们一直在研究和学习七巧板,直到去世。

木质七巧板
五十年代上海制作的木质七巧板

傅起凤老师从她的曾祖母、祖父、父亲和母亲那里继承和他们对七巧游戏和魔术的钟爱和热诚。退休后,傅老师和她的先生徐庄老师继续为七巧游戏和魔术研究和著书。她的弟弟傅腾龙、女儿徐秋和侄子傅琰东及众多的学生弟子们还在继续傅氏魔术,并不断创新。

Fu Qifeng and her husband in 2011
Fu Qifeng and her husband Xu Zhuang in 2011

In November 2000, we met Beijing resident Fu Qifeng (b. 1939) and her husband Xu Zhuang, and we’ve been close friends ever since. Teacher Fu is a well-known magician and author of books on magic and puzzles, and she comes from a family that’s been involved with these pursuits for five generations. She sees the connection between magic, puzzles, and acrobatics as a natural one and explains that these and other forms of recreation have traditionally been interrelated. Teacher Fu traces her own passion for puzzles to her paternal great-grandmother:

My great-grandmother Li Shi (Ms. Li) (1869–1952) came from a well-to-do family, the largest salt merchants in Sichuan province. She was very smart and learned everything taught to her brothers from overhearing their classes, and she also learned all the games they played, including tangram. When she was married into the Fu family her dowry included two hundred mu (approximately thirty-three acres) of farmland in Changshou County. But my great-grandfather passed away when he was only nineteen years old, and my grandfather never saw his father.

Fu Tianzheng with his wife Zeng Qingpu, 1945
Zeng Qingpu and Fu Tianzheng in 1945

Great-grandmother was educated and had an open mind, so she sent my grandfather Fu Zhiqing (1887–1940) to Tokyo to study when he was seventeen years old. He studied law at Waseda University, and while in Japan he became a dramatist and magician. Since he was the only son in the family, his mother made him marry young, and he had a son, my father, before he traveled to Japan. My grandmother was also eager to learn, so she went to Chengdu to study silk processing. Therefore, my great-grandmother raised my father. She was in her late thirties when my father was born, and she taught him to play tangram and also taught him to sing. She even had a set of tangram-shaped dishes she used for serving food.

My father, Fu Tianzheng (1906–1972), grew up in Chongqing and became quite well known while still in high school. He could paint, wrote poetry, ran the school newspaper, acted in school plays, and put on his own magic shows. Later he attended Peking University and graduated with degrees in art history and business law. Since his father was a prominent lawyer, he was expected to and did work as an attorney. But he loved the arts so much that he quit law practice in order to become a magician, even though they were looked down upon. He stood out among his colleagues in the Shanghai Magic Troupe and spent his spare time researching and publishing books on the history of magic and acrobatics.

Fu Tianzheng and Fu Tianqi, Tangram Diagrams for Children, 1954
Fu Tianzheng and Fu Tianqi,
Tangram Diagrams for Children, 1954
Tangram Birds
Birds

My mother, Zeng Qingpu (1909–1976), also came from a prominent Chongqing family and graduated from the city’s top high school for girls. She shared father’s interest in painting, calligraphy, and tangram, and she would buy little booklets with blank pages and draw tangram diagrams. Sometimes she cut out tangram pieces and pasted them into shapes. She also used multiple sets of tangram pieces to create situational scenes, such as playing ping-pong, house cleaning, and acrobatics. In fact, we still have some of her work.

Mother wrote New Fifteen-Piece Diagrams (Yizhi tu xinbian) and published it in 1953 under the pen name Yun Xin. My paternal second uncle, Fu Tianqi (1910–1977), who was a magician and an artist, did the artwork based on mother’s designs. Mother loved calligraphy, and in the 1960s she began composing revolutionary slogans using the fifteen yizhi pieces to make the characters. She enlisted my daughter and son to help her trace the diagrams for popular slogans, such as “People’s communes are good” and “Let a hundred flowers bloom.”

New Fifteen-Piece Diagrams, by Zeng Qingpu, 1953
New Fifteen-Piece Diagrams, by Zeng Qingpu, 1953
"Let a hundred flowers bloom"
“Let a hundred flowers bloom”

From as early as I can remember, both of my parents loved to play tangram and draw diagrams during their leisure time. They would always be so happy after they created some new shapes. They got our whole family involved. We had a square table, and when we worked together each of us would take one side of the table. When my children were small, my parents also got them involved by asking them to trace the constructed shapes.

During the 1950s, my parents published four tangram books, and my paternal second uncle Fu Tianqi created the illustrations. They also published short articles about tangram and other puzzles in Shanghai and Beijing newspapers right up to the onset of the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976).

Many of my parents’ manuscripts were lost during the Cultural Revolution, but I still have Chairman Mao’s poem, “The Long March”, which my mother composed using characters formed using the fifteen-piece tangram. My brother Tenglong made a rubber chop for each of the characters, and mother used the chops to print the slogan.

The Red Army is not afraid of the Long March;Fifteen-piece composition by Zeng Qingpu, 1973
“The Red Army is not afraid of the Long March.” Fifteen-piece tangram composition by Zeng Qingpu, 1973
Fu Tianzheng teaching the fifteen-piece tangram to his grandson in 1966
Fu Tianzheng teaching the fifteen-piece tangram
to his grandson in 1966

During the Cultural Revolution, our home was searched, and lots of things were taken away. The Red Guards even pulled up our floor to see if anything was hidden under it. Years later we were able to retrieve some of our belongings. However, my father’s favorite tangram book, Easily Accomplished (Xinshou nianlai), was never recovered, and his old set of Compilation of Tangram Diagrams (Qiqiao jicheng) was damaged beyond repair. Both of my parents loved tangram and continued working on it until they passed away.

Wood tangram set, Shanghai, 1950s
Wood tangram set, Shanghai, 1950s

Fu Qifeng inherited the passion of her great-grandmother, grandfather, father, and mother for puzzles and magic. In her retirement Teacher Fu and her husband continue to write about these subjects, while her brother Fu Tenglong (b. 1942), daughter Xu Qiu (b. 1962), nephew Fu Yandong (b. 1975), and scores of former students carry on her family’s tradition as professional magicians.